Scouts Zoom to Victory at Pinewood Derby

5-race-11  Another exciting Pinewood Derby was conducted last Sunday, with over 50 scouts vying for the coveted first place race trophy and various design ribbons. Our brand new shiny track was used for the first time, purchased in part thanks to the generosity of the Brea Rotary Club.

As the pit crew learned to master the new track and timing software, all in attendance watched closely as their favorite car raced down the 49 feet of track at the “equivalent” of 300+ miles per hour.

Once again, we had some very creative designs inspired by some clever boys. The winners for each category, as voted on by those who attended, are:

Best Paint Job:
Jacob W., Joshua W., Mitchel D.
Best Scouting Theme:
Ben W., Braden H., Aiden H.
Fastest Looking:
Mitchell D., Vincent P., Joshua W.
Most Origional:
Grant E., Ben W., Noah G.
Best Use of Stickers:
Noah G., Ian R., Jacob W..
Scariest Looking:
Kai D., Justin R., David A.
Most Patriotic:
Matthew B., Collin H., Dylan Diego V.
Most Hilarious:
Trent E., Jeffrey M., Braden H.
Tastiest Food:
Matthew D., Braden H., Christopher S.
Best Sports Theme:
Dante T., Jacob B., Matthew R.
Most Creative Shape:
Trent E., Dean K., Ben W.
Most Futuristic:
Jonathan L., Joshua W., Jacob W.
Best Truck:
Jacob G., Arther N., Dylan Diego V.,
Best Name:
Evan P., Ben W., Jeffrey M.

The Race Medal Winners from each den are:

Tigers: (1st place) Adam C. (2nd place) Justin R. (3rd place) Christopher S.
Wolves: (1st place) Ian R. (2nd place) Collin H. (3rd place) Matthew B.
Bears: (1st place) Carlo V. (2nd place) Connor R. (3rd place) Trent E.
Webelos I: (1st place) Matthew R. (2nd place) Jacob B. (3rd place) Sam W.
Webelos II: (1st place) Nicholas L. (2nd place) Stephen G. (3rd place) Grant E.

Kate L. took first place in Sibling Race, and Peter Gambino took first place and bragging rites for the next year for winning the “young at heart” race.

A close finals round with some of the 8 fastest cars determined the Pack Champions:

0-2013cars First Place: Ian R. with his car “Minecraftopia”
Second Place: Jacob B. with his car “The Stealth Mobile”
Third Place: Collin H. with his car “Midnight Patriot “

Of course, this fun event could not have taken place without the dedicated volunteer pit crew led by Event Chair Warren Biederstadt. This crew took care of the hundreds of details required for such an event, including activites such as assembling, decorating, procuring, cooking, operating, printing, recording, calculating, announcing, cleaning, and inspiring. This crew included:

Warren Biederstadt, Paul Hinz, Amy Hinz, Peter Gambino, John DiMario, Mari Remley, Dean Gialamas, Matt Sikes, Brad Halderman, Shawn Jamison, Jo Rivera, Scott Wemple, Jeff McEntee, John Koos, Jim Remley, and Christian Lising. Of course, this list does not include the many other parents who jumped in to help whenever they saw a need.

Our great volunteers is what makes our pack so great! Check out some photos from the event in the Albums. If you have some pictures from the event that you can share, please upload them for all to enjoy.

Congratulations Scouts, and thank you parents!